top of page
  • Writer's pictureStupidlySimpleSport

Spinning: The Stupidly Simple Review

Updated: Mar 10, 2019

By Ellie Clifford


A spin class is a high-intensity workout which takes place on a stationary bike with a weighted flywheel which is linked to your pedals. You can change the intensity of the workout by upping the resistance.




I'd tried spinning a couple of times before in local gym classes and hadn't been impressed. The music never quite worked, the instructors were never loud enough and the fluorescent lights mean everybody can see each of your laboured breaths. I'd decided it wasn't for me.


So when my friend suggested I join them at a trendy new spin studio which had opened in Clapham I was sceptical. Lured in by a 'bring a buddy' offer, I agreed to give it a try.


What was the class like?

What I met with was an entirely different experience to the classic spin class I imagined. Flashy bikes, a light show that would rival a club's and pounding music all come together to form a total experience - plus you're mainly in the dark which works for me.

Recently, I read an article which talked about how classes like spin had become almost like the new church. A community of people coming together to concentrate on something phone-free for an hour. And I can see where they're coming from.


With spinning, it can vary depending on your instructor. Some are more exercise focussed, really encouraging you to push your body to its limits alternating between lumbering resistance and abject speed. Others though do treat it like a spiritual experience. One instructor gets us to close our eyes. LIVE IN THE MOMENT. You can go further than you've ever gone before. With the pumping music and flashing lights this can all be a little much. It often walks the line between encouraging and overbearing.



Why should you give it a go?

In all though, I work harder in one spin class than I would if I went to the gym on my own multiple times per week. It's a great class if you're somebody who wants to get into something with a team feel, but which is an individual's sport. Setting the resistance yourself means you can find your limits but still engage. But it means you do have to be strict with yourself. It can be tempting to sneakily take one or two turns off but you have to keep going!




11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page